The Blessedness of Messiness

I’m really running on fumes right now, so this week’s entry may be somewhat abbreviated, but we’ll see how it goes. I watched “The Descendants“, starring George Clooney, in the theatre this past week – twice, in fact. I am quite particular about movies so when I find one that resonates with me, I have no qualms about seeing it again. Here’s the trailer:

 

What I appreciated about this film is director Alexander Payne’s true-to-life depiction of a sincerely messy situation, without artificially sanitizing it or dumbing it down. It concedes and affirms that life is rarely a cut-and-dried deal, that you can simultaneously despise and love someone, that anything of any worth will be accompanied by a tug-of-war of emotions, external pressures, and will likely have little indication of which direction is best. I’ve said before that experiencing the highs and lows of life, the full gamut of human emotion, makes one more fully human, and this sentiment finds company in this film as well.

I’m starting to fade now, my thoughts loitering just outside of focus, to the chimes of Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto. I think life will always be messy. If there is no messiness in life, I wonder if something else is lackinghonesty with one’s self, passion, insight, humility, or perhaps direction. A messy life requires work, but it’s rewarding work. A tidy life can be arranged and maintained, and it may be comforting, but it’s a deceptive comfort – the kind you feel as hypothermia takes over.

Uugghhh, there is little point in continuing to explore this train of thought. I can feel my brain going into lockdown – where nothing goes in and nothing gets out. I suggest you take the time you would have normally spent on this blog to go see “The Descendants”.

I might do the same.

About jaybrandsma

Loading...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Blessedness of Messiness

  1. Liv says:

    The honest life is a messy affair … really, it’s the only way to live it out in my view … AND NOW I KNOW I MUST SEE THIS MOVIE, sooner rather than later!! I can tell it will resonate with me too!

  2. Jane says:

    Jay, you have summed up beautifully in this post something I have long suspected…and very concisely!

  3. Lana says:

    This: “A messy life requires work, but it’s rewarding work. A tidy life can be arranged and maintained, and it may be comforting, but it’s a deceptive comfort – the kind you feel as hypothermia takes over.” This is so awesome. And exactly what I needed to hear today. Thank you – I wish we’d talked more about this on Sunday! (But we DID have an awesome day, thanks to you). I hope Bach is helping with the sleep. The Brandenburg Concertos are some of his best (and that’s from someone who doesn’t have a natural affinity for Bach, so…). We’ll definitely have to see this movie.

Leave a Reply

