Thought Life

It’s Christmas, so this week’s post will be brief.

My life, for the past eight and a half years has been about rethinking and redefining. In a bid to reconcile my beliefs with my experience, I’ve revisited nearly every assumption I had about life. Occasionally, this meant challenging widely (or perhaps passively) accepted ideas of what is “good”, what is “right”, and, most significantly, what is “normal”. Some will agree with my findings, some will vehemently disagree, but the thoughts I present here each week are truth to me – they give me peace and resonate with my soul.

Prior to April 9, 2003, I knew nothing about brain damage and only slightly more about life in general. I have since learned much about both, and continue to seek out truths found in the trauma.  This is how I make retarded look good, and in the same way, this is how I make life look good.

Note: Due to upcoming festivities, I will likely be too tired or too nauseous to post next weekend. Look for my next post in two weeks. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.

About jaybrandsma

Loading...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thought Life

  1. Naomi says:

    Actually this morning as I was drinking my coffee with Beth (the oldest daughter) you came to mind, wondering how you are and where you are. Thanks for your post.

  2. Jane says:

    Thanks, Jay — Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you too. : )

  3. jess says:

    Interesting… I like what you had to say, it resonates with my own story. It seems everyone at some point in their life is faced with confronting their beliefs and who they are in some form or another. I think you have faced it head on… thanks for sharing Jay

Leave a Reply

